Financial Analyst Levels

What are Financial Analyst Levels?

Some companies use financial analyst levels to indicate the seniority of analysts on the team. Common examples include Financial Analyst 1, 2, 3, and 4, or Junior and Senior Analyst. Salary and compensation can vary based on these levels as well as other factors that are company-specific. It is common to spend 1 to 3 years in each of the levels, and obtaining additional credentials such as an MBA or FMVA certification can help you move up faster.


Financial Analyst Levels

Analyst Certification FMVA® Program

Below is a break down of subject weightings in the FMVA® financial analyst program. As you can see there is a heavy focus on financial modeling, finance, Excel, business valuation, budgeting/forecasting, PowerPoint presentations, accounting and business strategy.


Financial Analyst certification curriculum


A well rounded financial analyst possesses all of the above skills!


Additional Questions & Answers

CFI is the global institution behind the financial modeling and valuation analyst FMVA® Designation. CFI is on a mission to enable anyone to be a great financial analyst and have a great career path. In order to help you advance your career, CFI has compiled many resources to assist you along the path.

In order to become a great financial analyst, here are some more questions and answers for you to discover:

  • What is financial modeling?
  • How do you build a DCF model?
  • What is sensitivity analysis?
  • How do you value a business?


0 search results for ‘