A probability ratio
A probability ratio
Operating margin is equal to operating income divided by revenue. Operating margin is a profitability ratio measuring revenue after covering operating and non-operating expenses of a business. Also referred to as return on sales, the operating income is the basis of how much of the portion of the generated sales is left when all operating expenses are paid off.
In the above example, you can clearly see how to arrive at the 2018 operating margin for this company. 2018 starts with Revenue of $5 million, less COGS of $3.25 million, resulting in Gross Profit of $1.75 million.
From there, another $1.3 million of Selling General & Administrative SG&A expenses are deducted, to arrive at Operating Income of $437,500.
By taking $437,500 and dividing it by $5.0 million you arrive at the operating margin of 8.8%.
DT Clinton Manufacturing company reported on its 2015 annual income statement a total of $125 million in sales revenue. Operating income before tax netted to $45 million after deducting all operating expenses for the year. As a result, an operating margin of 36% was generated after deducting all the operational expenses of $80 million. Hence, for every dollar in sales achieved, $0.36 cents is retained as operating profit.
Operating income is the profit of a business after all operating expenses are deducted from sales receipts or revenue. It represents how much a company is making from its core operations not including other income sources not directly related to its main business activities.
This gives an idea for investors and creditors if a company’s core business is profitable or not, before considering non-operating items.
Learn accounting fundamentals and how to read financial statements with CFI's free online accounting classes. These courses will give the confidence you need to perform world-class financial analyst work. Start now!
Building Confidence in your accounting skills is easy with CFI courses, so start now!
Sales revenue or net sales is the monetary amount obtained from selling goods and services to business customers excluding the merchandise returned and the allowances/discounts offered to them. This can be realized either as cash sales or credit sales.
A business that is capable of generating operating profit rather than operating at a loss is a positive sign for potential investors and existing creditors. This means that the company’s operating margin creates value for shareholders and continuous loan servicing for lenders. The higher the margin that a company has, the less financial risk it has as compared to a lower ratio.
Continued increases in profit margin over time shows that profitability is improving. This may either be attributed to an efficient control of operating costs or other factors that influence revenue build-ups such as pricing, marketing, and increase in customer demand.
Operating profit is an accounting metric, and therefore not necessarily an indicator of economic value, or cash flow. Profit includes several non-cash expenses such as depreciation and amortization, stock-based compensation, other others. Conversely, it doesn’t include capital expenditures and changes in working capital.
In conjunction, these various items are that included and excluded could cause cash flow (the ultimate driver of value for a business) to be very different (higher or lower) than operating profit.
To learn more, read all about business valuation.